About the Old Scotch Symphony Orchestra

The Old Scotch Symphony Orchestra (OSSO) was founded in 2013, to continue the musical tradition fostered within the James Forbes Academy. Today, many musical Old Boys and friends play in the orchestra, uniting through their passion for performing great music. Guided by a committee led by Old Boys and friends, OSSO seeks to bring musical fulfilment to audiences and players through community, collaboration and camaraderie.

Each concert showcases vibrant and spirited orchestral masterpieces, and they are a great opportunity to share a relaxing afternoon with family and friends.

OSSO Concert August 2024 – Expression of Interest

Upcoming Concert: Love and other delirium

Saturday 17 March, 3pm – 6:30pm

Ian Roach Hall, Scotch College, Melbourne


  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – Romeo and Juliet Overture
  • Edward Elgar – Cello Concerto in E minor, Op. 85, Soloist: Lincoln Poon
  • Antonín Dvořák – Symphony No. 5 in F Major, Op. 76
  • Justin Hurwitz – Epilogue (La La Land)

Want to play with us in the upcoming concert? Click on the link below to fill out our EOI form!


OSSO welcomes anyone from the Scotch community and beyond who has a passion for music. Rehearsals start 21st of June, 2024.

OSSO’s Goals

  • To successfully launch the Old Scotch Symphony Orchestra as an ongoing cultural component of the Old Scotch network
  • To provide a means for Old Boys who enjoyed their music at Scotch to continue with their love of music, in combination with other Old Boys.
  • To foster a continuing connection of a group of Old Boys and their families with the School


The 2024 OSSO Committee

President: Tian Tian Lian (’17)

Vice-President: Callie Starovrou

Secretary: Brendan Zhang (’22)

Treasurer: Lachlan Chen (’22)

Conductor: Yuki Goh (’19)

Librarian: Lincoln Poon (’17)

Logistics: Ashleigh Hughes, Leon Fei (’22), Shane Gan (’22), Andrew Wang (’22)

Marketing and Publications: Jacqui Wang, Brandon Pai (’22), Tiffany Pai